Toribash
Original Post
[Art] Colored Monkeys
Hey there, I'm back once again.
Lately I've been sitting around the table with a music label called "Colored Monkeys".
It's a fresh young group and they want me to design their style for them.

I've noted them that it should be spelled "Coloured Monkeys" but they insisted on keeping it like they have it now.

Here are my first two drafts:

Draft1, something annoyed me, can you spot it?

You can CnC but I doubt I will change it as unfortunately, the client is king..
I've used Adobe Illustrator CS6.
Last edited by AlphasoniK; May 28, 2013 at 02:40 AM.
Fr3styL . Improving by Improvising
I'm an artist.
i like the first one more because it seems silly to have a black and white logo for the COLORED monkeys
as slycooper said great line art
you already know you're a beast with the pentool
i know you said you're probably not going to change anything but i'll still give this one piece of input
the top monkey is all symmetrical so i feel as though if you take the eyes and have the highlight cutting from the top right corner of each eye rendering the monkey nonsymmetrical it would add a lot to the piece with just that simple change
but that's just my two cents
they're both sweet and i like the tail

edit: also that black drip on the first one seems a bit out of place, especially without it being double toned like the others

<~oyster> i want you to fart near my mouth
Fixed the second logo.
Something really put me off, can you spot it?

Thank you for the kind words.
I'll probably work on the tail some more and I might implement the colours in the second logo as well.

@Vark:
I hear you on the symmetrical thing! I will fix that, I didn't even think about that haha. Thanks.
About the black thing; the label is going to have six different sub-labels, each for a different genre.
Each colour represents a label and one is called "Black". That will be the Electronical music.
Using a colour other than black seems silly, hihi.