Toribash
Original Post
[Art]New To Shading
Hey I am new to this shading stuff . I wanted to draw a cup and went with the flow and then i created a table with pinish old texture just middle one is made rest is cp . it took me around 1.3hours so i hope you like it

Dem Softwares are known as GIMP

i made a skull wow UPDATE

Please add the software used. ~Chris
Last edited by SKITZOFRENIK; Jul 6, 2014 at 09:05 AM. Reason: GIMP
I'm a wordsmith cursed with verses and the worst shit.
A vile winged wicked bird who no one lurks with.

Not a bad piece of advice, but isn't it a bit rude to just say "lern2draw" to someone who's trying to learn to draw? Anyways, i might as well try to offer some pointers:

The outer side of the cup is decent enough, if a bit smudgy. However, you missed a little detail about cups and other hollow cylinders; the inner side of it DOES NOT have shadows in the same place as the outer side. I happen to have a shoddy example of what i mean. Notice how the shadow inside the cup is on the opposite side of the shadow on the outer side.

Also, in your drawing, the shadow from the cup FALLS TOWARDS THE LIGHT. Shadows don't work like that, i'm afraid. They always point directly away from the light, full stop. The length of the shadow then depends on the height of the light source and the angle of the surface that the shadow is falling on, but mostly you can get away with winging it.

The texture on the table is also very obviously looped. Ideally, if you do have to loop a texture, it shouldn't be evident.

Besides that, it's mostly just a matter of practicing your stuff. I know it's the most ubiquitous advice ever, but it's sadly(?) the only way to get better at drawing.
<Blam|Homework> oiubt veubg
various places to find me lol
It's not that hard to go on youtube and see it for yourself to be honest. There is an abundance of 'How to shade' tutorials.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dqGkHWC5IU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNagfl4piJg